Catching marshmallows in Mongolia – my RTW photos

After posting my faux fish rant post (I promise I will write it),  my blogging buddy My English Thoughts asked me to share some of my round-the-world adventure photos. As it took me a year, I won’t post all of them… Today I present my Russia to Mongolia pictures.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also kept a blog up on myspace. I won’t subject you to all the posts, but here’s two from Mongolia.

4 July 2006

Don’t try and catch a marshmallow that has just been freshly toasted. Especially when you’re up a mountain with no river to be seen and you’re a days hiking away from civilisation, where you have to scramble down several rock fields, jumping from one precarious rock edge to another.

11 July 2006

Today was the unveiling of the great Chingis Khaan statute that was only finished yesterday. You may know Chingis as Genigis Khan, a blood thirsty murderer who conquered half of the world.

However to Mongolians, he is a national hero who, 800 years ago, united warring tribes and named the country as it is known as today. They have this a long time coming and the date set. The national press and the world were invited and were watching, even the Duke of York arrived yesterday celebrate this tiny, landlocked nation and to watch the festival of Nadaam.

The ceremony took place in the main square called Shukhbaatar Square against the back drop of the unfinished parliament building, which was supposed to have been completed for today. The scaffold was still up and every so often the wind blew building dust across the delegates and press, blurring the vision of many.

There was an impressive start with a marching band, music and the nine horsehair banners called Sulde that Chingis rode with made their appearance. However, the ceremony then stopped for about half and hour and nothing seemed to happen. Not exactly running smooth.

The preceding resumed with a round of speeches, and then for the moment that everyone was waiting for, the unveiling of Chingis himself.  Except, this is Mongolia. The blue fabric wound not come off, part of the taupe that hid the scaffold fell down and the piece d’ressistance, one of the blokes from the media fell down the side of the stairs and broke one of the slates. Health and safety in this country is not a big priority here.

After the music stopped playing, everyone rushed to touch the Khaan and to photograph the Sulde. It will be interesting at the opening ceremony of Nadaam.

PS – RTW= round the world. (In case you didn’t know).

12 thoughts on “Catching marshmallows in Mongolia – my RTW photos

  1. You just reminded me about the ceremonies that never ran smoothly in the countries with no health and safety policies at all.:) I’m sure I’m looking at it with rose tint colouring all the memories and it never was that fun, but this is making me very nostalgic for “mother Russia”.

    Beautiful pictures, especially the boy and the baby goat.

  2. I remember reading both of those blog posts the first time round 🙂

    There has been too much talk about travelling this past week. I’m started to get tempted again 😉

    • Lol. I still go back to them from time to time. Have spotted spelling mistakes in them… eek!

      I’ve been looking into my Everest trek. Need to start a savings account and want to start hiking around Britain when the weather becomes nicer. Already a friend and I are making plans for the Easter bank hols. Not sure on when to go as my birthday is at the end of Nov-but I believe that’s when the weather starts to turn.

  3. Your photos are really beautiful !! I really like the one took from the train ! 🙂
    Mongolia seems to be a such beautiful country. I’m glad you post about it and I can’t wait for the following ! 🙂

    • Thank you very much 🙂 The thing that stuck me, once I got out of the capital, was the quietness of the countryside. The steppe was so vast but so quiet. Honestly, I’ve never heard silence like it. There will be more. There’s a whole world to get through!

  4. Fabulous pictures! I love the view of the train at sunset/sunrise. Hope you’ll share some more of your travelling pictures and stories in the future.

  5. I love the photos! I’ve love to visit that side of the world – so much history and culture there. Maybe one day I’ll make it there.

    The marshmellow except made me chuckle! 😉

    • Thanks Em. I would def recommend going. I’d love to go back there, visit Lake Baikal and see how Mongolia is after all these years. I would not recommend catching a flaming marshmallow. If I remember correctly, it had an extra coating of sugar. Ouch!

Leave a Reply

