Too much tea and cake leads to running

Only eight weeks to go until the Hastings Half Marathon and I’m two week’s into The Training. I’m wondering how I’m going to keep this up. Having started running once a week before Christmas, which went up to two a week (up until two weeks ago) I have managed to get to a level of fitness where I can now run for half an hour without stopping. That, for me, is an achievement in itself.

I’ve never been a lover of running, and here I am running along the same stretch of seafront which I hated at school. The wrong side of 25 and the right side of 30 (but only just) I knew that if I didn’t start exercising regularly then the cellulite and weight will catch up with me. Working in an office means I’m sitting down for long periods of time, eating cake and drinking copious amounts of tea.

I don’t weigh myself, but I know when I’ve put on weight when my trousers start to feel tight. That’s when I know I must do something about it. And yes, I have bent down and split a pair before. The other reason for running is my wish to climb to Everest Base Camp. Although I can’t do anything about the altitude sickness, I can do something with my fitness level. I want to give myself the best chance of climbing to Base Camp.

Feeling tired tonight I managed to run for 52 minuets and covered a distance of 4.63 miles. This is my second run of the week and clocking up the miles. I measure my runs in time and not distance. The thinking behind this is if you think of distance, it is human to try and beat your previous distance in a quicker time. Marathons are not about speed, but endurance. It’s amazing how much distance you can cover in an extra five minuets.

I’ve now started to drink rooibos or redbush tea in the afternoon, because it doesn’t have any caffeine. But, I do love my builders cuppa. The cake eating hasn’t diminished though. I don’t think it ever will.

2 thoughts on “Too much tea and cake leads to running

  1. Hey, brilliant! Well done you 🙂 it’s hard to get motivated to run when it’s cold wet and/or dark. I ran for half an hour last night, but didn’t get very far, it had been a while since I had last been out. You’re doing so well!

    • Thanks 🙂 It can get hard to motivated, but it’s one of those things that you just need to get out and do. I think it helps cos I’ve got this half marathon coming up and I know that I have to train for it. I can’t wait until it starts to get lighter in the evening. Well done for getting out and running.

Leave a Reply

