1 month down, 11 to go

Thirty-one days later, and I’m still in the game for the 365: the 2011 edition on Flickr.

Today, I painted a pot of pink flowers with light. I like the idea of still life, but they can be quite boring. I tried to make it more interesting, by using a long exposure, a dark room and light from my rape alarm. What do you think?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For those interested:

30 sec

ISO 200

F/5.0

It has been an interesting month trying to fit in the running, this blog and my daily photos. The hardest part is trying to think of ideas of what to photograph. Sometimes it needs a bit of planning. For example, for tonight’s photo I had an idea of a still life painting in my mind which I wanted to emulate in a photo. There was the set up (see above gallery), I had to think of the direction of light, the height of the camera etc. The background was a black soft-shell suitcase as I didn’t want a shiny background and didn’t have any black material.

Some of my photos on my Flickr stream are just quick snaps and others, I hope to develop Β in to a series.

One month down, 11 months to go.

4 thoughts on “1 month down, 11 to go

  1. You shots are great ! πŸ™‚ Playing with the light is the most funny and pleasant part of the photography. Specially when you are playing with the light and the dark too ! You can do so many things.
    Don’t hesitate to try to use non direct light, diffuse light, and reflected light ( you can use mirror or just a white poly plate ) The same subject will be different in the same way.
    If you can, try to read “lights and shadow” for Henry Alekan, he was one of the greatest cinematographer in the world and he did a wonderful book about lights ! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I do love playing with light. I still need to understand how to use it more effectively, so thanks for the book. I’ll see if I can borrow it out of my library. I always forget about using mirrors to direct light. I must remember…

Leave a Reply

