Hastings Half Marathon

After all my training, I succumbed to injury and was unable to run my first ever half marathon. I was gutted. After five weeks of rest, my shin splits are slowly getting better. I’m just hoping that my fitness hasn’t declined too much

I did go down to the sea front to show my support and naturally took photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m now thinking of starting the gym (I hate gyms) to do non-weight bearing exercises and will be looking to do another half marathon in the year. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

9 thoughts on “Hastings Half Marathon

  1. Oh no! Gutted for you 😦 The photos are great though. Some of my firends are doing ‘Run to the Beat’ in London in September. They were trying to get me to sign up too, but I haven’t plucked up the courage yet! 🙂

  2. Oh no, that sucks! There’s nothing more annoying than picking up an injury before the race and feeling like all your hard work was for nothing. 😦

    Three things I’ve learned dealing with my injury last year:

    1. It will take you much longer than you expect to go back to full fitness (especially, if you try to be a hero and run through it :))
    2. It’s amazing how quickly you lose fintess when you don’t exercise.
    3. Most injuries can be avoided, if you stretch properly. It’s a common sense, but, sadly, most people realise what difference it makes only after picking up an injury. I’ve learned my lesson.

    As for another half marathon. I did Run to the Beat last year and can honestly say, would not run it again. The organisation was terrible. How about this one?

    http://www.whitenightnuitblanche.com/brighton/events/midnight-half-marathon-dawn-dash/

    I’ve signed up. It’s going to be a challenge and I’m looking forward to it.

    • I know. But at least it got me off my arse and doing something. Thanks for the tips. I think my injury was because I didn’t stretch properly.

      Interested to know that you don’t recommend Run to the Beat. I’ll ask my bro about the organisation. Thanks for the link – only question, it’s got 2010 written at the top. I’m taking it that it’s still going ahead. Looks like fun though.

      • It is going ahead. I haven’t even noticed it still said 2010 on the top of the page until you mentioned it. However, if you follow the link to British Heart Foundation page at the end of the article to takes you to 2011 registration page.

        Re: Run to the Beat. Don’t get me wrong, I liked running it, but getting there was awful. They had to delay the start for 45 mins as many people couldn’t get there in time (this doesn’t bode well for London Olympics) and having to shiver in a cold wind for an hour longer than expected was not fun at all. I didn’t have that issue myself, but people who finished later than me complained that there wasn’t any drinks left for them at power stations in final stages. Also, as an event that advertises itself as a music half marathon I thought there was a woeful lack of said music around the course. 🙂

      • Cool. I will def have a think, and let you know if I sign up.

        Hopefully Run to the Beat have learnt their lesson from last year? Bit rubbish at not having drink left at the power stations.

  3. Pingback: Body says no to running « teacup and cake

Leave a Reply

