Seeking an adventure

I may have treated my boyfriend to Iceland for his 30th this year, but I have decided to trek to Everest Base Camp when I turn the big 3-0 in November.

Ever since I spoke to a couple of travellers who told me November was a good time for Everest, and having spent my 25th in Melbourne, I wanted to celebrate the end of my 20’s in true teacup and cake style. Seeking another adventure by climbing a big ol’ mountain.

At the moment, I’m at the research stage. I went and borrowed a couple of books from my local library – The Longest Climb by Dominic Faulkner, Everest Exposed by George Band – to get me in the mood. I haven’t read them yet, but I’m looking forward to some good reads.

Not  confident to hop over to Nepal and organise the trip, I’m looking into an organised tour over here in the UK. My starting place was www.responsibletravel.com. I believe that when embarking on a trip such as this, it’s important to be sensitive to the environment and to the place that you visit. Not only do I want my money to go back to the people in the country that I spend my time in, I want to make sure that it’s sustainable for future generations.

What am I looking for? Well, I want to make sure that the porters have decent shoes and that they are not overloaded when transporting things up Everest, that local guides are used and the group is not too big. That’s just the starting point.

If you can help me with any tips or suggestions, let me know.

4 thoughts on “Seeking an adventure

  1. Sadly can’t help with any tips, but it’s such an amazing idea! What a better way to mark entering the new stage in your life than by embarking on an adventure of a lifetime. I didn’t do anything as grand for my 30th, mostly for the lack of finances. Went bungee jumping instead. The scariest/most awesome moment of my life!

    • I’m trying to save… hoping to open a savings account tomorrow! I was supposed to that at the beginning of the year. Whoops. But I wanted to do something amazing – hello Everest. Bungee jump… wow. I will never do one of those. I was in NZ, and freaked out at the videos. But that’s a great way to enter you’re 30’s! Where did you do that?

      • Whoops… Better late than never, right? 🙂

        I did bungee jump here in London. They occasionally hold them by the O2 arena and they had one on my birthday last year. For some reason I decided it would be a good idea. Yeah. I’ve never been so scared in my whole life. 😀 But the adrenalin rush afterwards it’s absolutely unbelievable. I can see how people get addicted to that feeling.

      • Exactly. I’m thinking of putting a deposit down in June/July, so I should have enough money put aside for that.

        Was a good idea then 🙂 At least you can say that you’ve done it. I did a parachute jump when I was 19, and vowed to never do it again. I was so scared.

Leave a Reply

