The battle of the spots

I don’t remember when I first got spots. But ever since then, they have been a blight on my life. I grew up hiding behind a fringe or my long hair. It didn’t help that I wore glasses too. Yes, I was an awkward, geek and incredibly shy teenager. Thankfully, as a girl, there was make-up, along with many lotion and potions promising to revolutionise your skin and kills spots dead.

While most of them actually dried my skin, creating a vicious circle of pumping out more sebum, then getting more spots, it did taught me was to look after my skin. At one point in my life, I thought I had finally beaten the dreaded acne. But on no. In the past few months, my face has erupted with painful cysts which are taking forever to go down, blackheads and open pores. Not exactly as great base for my flawless make-up.

However, I’m not alone. It affects 50% women and 25% of men. According to the British Association of Dermatologists – or BAD – the average age of people suffering from adult acne is 30. Most of us, at some point get the odd spot or two. However, if it becomes unmanageable it becomes just more than a blight on your life. It’s painful and makes you self-concious.

It’s hormones apparently. Blame the testosterone.

Here are some tips I have picked up over the years:

  • Despite what your mother might have told you, spots are not caused by chocolate.
  • Over washing can actually aggravate your skin. As it strips off the oil in your skin, if you don’t replenish that moisture (with an oil-free cream) you body will pump out more oil, resulting in more shine and more spots.
  • The Pill can help.
  • Your doctor can help.
  • Tea tree is the stuff of wonder.
  • Toothpaste does not work.
  • Exfoliate once a week to unclog your pores.
  • Don’t use anything with alcohol in. It’s an astringent and will strip the oil.
  • Don’t suffer in silence.

Over the  years I have spent obscene amounts of money to try and find the perfect product. As per usual, my skin doesn’t know if it’s coming or going. Too dry for oily products and too oily for dry and sensitive products. And forget about combination products. These days, I tend to smell of tea tree, known for its antibacterial properties and once a week I use a face mask that I bought back from Iceland.

The battle continues.

2 thoughts on “The battle of the spots

  1. I completely know this too ! It’s going to be better now and if sometimes I do have one or two spots, it’s nothing compared when I was a teenage !
    So yes I’ve found some way to make them disappear, hide them and protect my skins too.

    Here’s one or two tips of mine. I use only natural home made facial mask. I have a kind of mix skin, not dry but neither too oily. It’s kind of the worst kind actually because it’s really difficult to find the good facial mask !
    Here’s my recipe for a nice skin deep-cleansed :
    Sugar and honey ! 2 tea spoon of honey for 1 tea spoon of sugar, melt it and apply to your skin with soft circle movement ! (you can use it for the hands too ! For the feet, use salt instead of sugar… )

    Then a nice facial mask ( always with honey… I know other recipes with avocado / milk…)
    1 egg yolk
    2 tea spoon of honey
    1 tea spoon of lemon juce

    Melt it in a bowl, you can apply right away or wait a little bit than the mixture gets more thick or you can apply right away. Always with circle movement to let it enter in your skin.
    The egg yolk is “feading” your skin, the honey will hydrate it and the lemon juce will close the pores.
    At the first time the feeling to put some honey and yolk on your face could be strange but the feeling is pretty much nice and you will see the difference ! Let the mask on your face for about 10 to 15min max and wash your face with water.

    If you want you can change lemon juce with milk to hydrate more intensely your skin !

    I don’t know for you but I really love this, my skin looks really better and I know exactly what I put on my face !! Plus it’s really cheaper !!
    Try it once and tell me what you think about it ?!

Leave a Reply

