Carpe diem sweetheart, carpe diem

Photo by Linda Cronin

Topic #191:

Write a short letter to yourself, to be read one year from now. You don’t have to post the entire letter, but you do have to a) write it b) post about what surprised you the most about what you wrote, or whether you found the experience interesting or not.
And don’t forget to set a reminder in your calendar to read it in one year. 

This was a very interesting topic. I’ve never really thought about writing a letter to myself, so I thought I’d try it. Nothing really surprised me when I wrote it. Below is the second version. The first was just a little bit too personal.

I love writing and receiving letters. Sadly it doesn’t happen very often anymore. I do think the art of letter writing is dying, thanks to electronic means. The US state of Indiana is to stop teaching children joined up handwriting, saying that keyboard skills are more useful. Personally, I think that the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard. We all need to be able to write legibly. Being able to put pen to paper helps you remember things, and is a different skill. You are not always going to have a computer to hand.

My letter to myself

Dear Future Sarah,

Wow, what a 2011 so far! One car crash later, and you’ve gone orbital. But it’s a good thing. The crash has certainly put things into perspective and you’ve got some hard decisions to make.

Don’t give up. You’ve got so much to going for you. Carry on with your blogging and photography. You can only get better! You’ve only got six months to go. And remember, this November you are going to live out one of your dreams – to spend your 30th on Mount Everest. Ok, so you’re not going to the summit, but Base Camp isn’t that bad. You need to exercise more though. You’re not doing enough, and you know it. Get that heart rate up!

Yes, things are a bit rubbish at the moment, but you’re a fighter and you always get what you want in the end. You have amazing friends, who are helping you get through this sticky patch. I know you will return the favour when they need you. Make sure they know this. Get your head down, work hard, play harder, and everything will be ok in the end.

Remember this quote – be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind, don’t matter, and those who matter, don’t mind.

Or, as Jimmy Eat World says – you’re in the middle of a ride. Everything will be just fine.

All the best for the future,

Present Sarah

4 thoughts on “Carpe diem sweetheart, carpe diem

    • Thanks Ali! Cycling not going to well at the moment, I don’t have my bike… still. I’m getting it through a work scheme, which seems to be taking it’s time. Haven’t tried running yet. It’s very annoying. i’ve been advised not to run just yet, but walking is good. Been doing quite a lot of that. Bought some excellent walking boots. I love them! And yes. Everest is very exciting. Hoping to book the trip at the end of the week. Yay 🙂

    • Hi Ali, sorry for the uber late reply! Bad me… The cycling is going well 🙂 I love my Brompton. And yes, it has worked out better than the running. No pain in the legs. Bonus. I’m well ecited about Everest. Just need to get my insurance. Whoops!

  1. Pingback: Dear Future Me… | Life As Mummy

Leave a Reply

