Ultimate Betrayal

Rather shamefully, I not been posting any blogs. In my defence, I have several written on paper, just not transferred onto here. I hope you can forgive me.

I came across a mini short story competition for Stylist magazine. They were only asking for 100 words to put with the day’s picture. So, during my lunch break, I wrote my piece.

Ultimate Betrayal

Martha looked into Tommy’s blue eyes. “I don’t know if I can do this,” she said.

“It could be my last chance,” said Tommy gazing out onto the Thames. “I need to do this.”

Martha and Tommy watched the tugboat chug along the river. A silence descended between them. They knew this was it – the end of the road. Even the steel bridge that spanned the gap over the river could not reunite the two. They watched the tugboat fade into the distance.

A black car stopped behind them. “I’m sorry,” said Tommy as he climbed into the back.

4 thoughts on “Ultimate Betrayal

  1. I like your story. And thanks for a tip. It’s nice to find out I can write a 100 word story in 10 minutes when under pressure.

    • Thanks :0. I saw the story in the morning, thought about it as I went to get a sandwich, which was about 10 mins (!) and wrote it. It’s amazing what you can do under pressure. There’s nothing like a deadline to get you moving!

  2. Oh I like that! It’s an interesting exercise on testing your short story skills. I actually read the story before I looked at the photo. Nice pace for such a short story too.

Leave a Reply

