If only she was asleep

The Stylist magazine is running its microfiction competition everyday. Today’s picture is of a little girl running towards a group of people. Here’s my story.

If only she was asleep

She was so happy that day. Ellie had found a fallen nest. “Mummy!” she was shouting. “Mummy, come quick. I’ve found a baby bird. I think she’s hurt.” Ellie ran to me, grabbed my wrist and marched me over to the nest. After inspecting the bird, I told her to leave the chick. “Its Mummy will find it.” I said. We walked back to the house, hand in hand. I will never forget seeing my baby Ellie lying there. If I ignored the rope burns on her tiny arms and legs, she was just sleeping.

Leave a Reply

