To the iCloud in the sky, I hope there is decent wifi

I didn’t know Steve Jobs. To me he was Apple. He knew even less about me. In fact, he didn’t know I existed. I am, however, very sad to hear of his passing after suffering from pancreatic cancer for the past seven years. His vision and his company made a massive mark in my life. They made me fall in love with animate objects.

Yes – I admit, I am a disciple of Apple.

The day before Steve died, Apple launched the iPhone 4s. Many were expecting the iPhone 5, and were underwhelmed when they unveiled the iPhone 4s. Yet, I still want it. The latest reviews gave the 4s the thumbs up.

Apple, along with Steve’s vision made me  think I needed their products in my life. I don’t need the iPhone 4s – I want it. I feel that my life is somehow incomplete without one. Ok, I am planning to climb Everest, and want to use it as a back-up camera, but tweet my way up the mountain. My friends have told me to go for the android, but my heart is Apple.

The more I read about him, the more I realise the impact he had on people’s lives. A college drop out, he went on to make Apple a well-known and well-loved brand. He made technology easy and pretty.

As the tributes poured I realised how many profound things he said during his 56 years. This this has to be one of my favorite quotes:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Although I am unlikely to become a trailblazer like Mr Jobs, he has given me a Macbook and iPod, as well as opening a whole new creative world (I use Photoshop and InDesign on the Mac). More importantly, he’s given me inspiration to get on with it when times are hard. And for that, I thank you Steve.

3 thoughts on “To the iCloud in the sky, I hope there is decent wifi

Leave a Reply

