When yaks attack

As the yak charged at me, only one thought flashed though my mind. Do I stay still or do I run? As it turns out, running away was a good idea. Being fast is even better.

We were fours days into our trek to Everest Base Camp. The week hadn’t started very well for my group. We were stranded in Kathmandu for six days, thanks to unseasonable bad weather and we spent the days waiting until 2pm to see if the flights were cancelled, then sat in cafes in the Boudhanath, people watching.

We had given up hope by Friday, but our guide, Hari, told us to get our backpacks. We were heading to the airport. And four days later, I had a spooked yak heading towards me.

It had ambled across the suspension bridge at a leisurely pace, when a tiny white terrier yapped and scared it. The terrier then bit it. But, thankfully, for me, I was well out of its way. The situation only took a few mins, but at least I knew to run away from yaks – no matter how young they are.

This wouldn’t be the last time I would be running away from yak trains on suspension bridges. At altitude, doing anything requires a lot of effort, so running away from four-legged horned beasts practically killed me.

The bad weather meant we had lost our acclimatisation days – bar one in Namche. We had contingency days built in, but that too got used up. It was going to be a hard and intense trek if we were to make it to Everest Base Camp (EBC) in time for the rest of my group to fly back to the UK for the 28th Nov.

Leave a Reply

