My Life in Books

I’ve just discovered My Life in Books on BBC 2. Hosted by Anne Robinson (of The Weakest Link fame), celebrities talk about their three favourite books and why it’s important to them.

This got me thinking. Which three books have influenced my life?

The first book that springs to mind is Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding. I enjoyed it immensely when I was at college, mainly because I found it funny, but also because, even in my late teens I had the body worries, man worries, work worries. Back then, part of me was scared that I would become Bridget. Now that I’ve hit my 30’s, I’m scared that I’m going to become Bridget.

“Can officially confirm that the way to a man’s heart these days is not through beauty, food, sex, or alluringness of character, but merely the ability to seem not very interested in him.” Bridget Jones’s Diary

Ok – this is sad. Elizabeth Wakefield was the reason why I wanted to become a journalist. There we are. My secret is out. I was a big, big fan of the Sweet Valley High series and would save my pocket money to buy a book each month. I don’t even remember why she inspired my career choice, but there you go. I suppose it was because I could identify with Elizabeth being studious who never really got into trouble.

I read the newest Sweet Valley book – Sweet Valley Confidential. I recommend you don’t. Awful plot, bad, bad writing which hasn’t matured with it’s audience and time you will never get back. Ever.

For my third book, I’m going to cheat here and say The Lonely Planet. As an eternal adventurer, I swear by these books. Yes, I know they’re a guide, but they’re my guide of choice. I’ve tried the Rough Guides, Footprints but I always come back to the LP. They’ve shaped my travels and have helped me decided on where to go, eat and sleep.

I also asked my two book-lovin’ friends, tea with me and Emma Taylor on the three books that influenced their lives.

Now it’s your turn. What three books have influenced your life and why.

4 thoughts on “My Life in Books

  1. Pingback: How to travel to other worlds and not leave your room « teacup and cake

  2. Pingback: The three books that shaped my life « teacup and cake

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap | teacup and cake

  4. Pingback: New book review section coming soon | teacup and cake

Leave a Reply

