Give generously

Back in 2006, I received a phone call saying that my Dad was in hospital. I was in Australia at the time. He had suffered a heart attack in Oxford and was rushed to the John Radcliffe Hospital for a life saving operation. Little did I know at the time, my Dad could have died.

He’s fine now. Regular check-ups and three pills a day keep him alive. If my Dad was going to have a heart attack, he had it in the best place possible – Oxford. The John Radcliffe is known for being one of the best places in the world for its cardiothoracic services. We, as a family, are very grateful.

Our family friend wasn’t so lucky. While waiting for a heart transplant, he had contracted rheumatic fever after the values in his heart got infected. Even though it has been a number of years since he died, there is a hole in his family of where he should be. His talented footballer son has just learnt to drive, while his daughter achieved a First in her degree and now is doing her Masters.

I can’t imagine not having my Dad there to see those milestones. That’s why I’ve decided to cycle from London to Brighton at night in aid for the British Heart Foundation. It’s my small was of saying ‘thank you’ for the research into heart disease that is keeping my Dad here. I also want to spare many other families the pain of what our family friends have gone through.

You can sponsor me at my Virgin Money Giving page. Please dig deep, and give generously. Thank you in advance.

If you fancy cycling 60 odd miles in the dark, registrations close on the 11 May.

One thought on “Give generously

  1. Pingback: Ahhh, public transport « teacup and cake

Leave a Reply

