We survived the Mayan apocalypse. Now wot?

It’s been another rollercoaster of a year – we survived the Mayan apocalypse, came together as a nation and was proud to be called British for a while and fed-up housewives got hot and bothered thanks to Fifty Shades of Grey. Maternity units up and down the country are now bracing themselves for a baby boom in 2013.

And for teacup and cake? Well, sadly, I had to put this blog on hold moving from Nepal back to the UK, to Oxford and now settling (hopefully) in London. Today sees the revival of this blog and a whole new career direction. After spending many years studying and working within the media industry, I’ve decided to call time. My focus next year is not on what will land me my next job, but on what will make me happy in the hope that this will lead me up the right path. So, in true teacup and cake style, here’s my 2013 resolutions (in no particular order):

1)  Night ride from London to Brighton. Last year I raised over £300 for the British Heart Foundation and would like to raise something similar again. My father nearly died of a heart attack a few years ago so this is a cause close to me. If you have some spare pennies going, you can donate here. No doubt I’ll be blogging my progress.

2) Start a new career. I’m trying to figure out what I’m actually good at in the hope that it will lead me down a new and exciting job. It’s a very scary prospect – I’ve dreamed, trained and worked in the industry my whole life. It’s what I know – but now is the time for something more settled. Which leads me onto…

3) I’ve had this silly idea to make jewellry and sell it on Etsy, so this year, I’m going to do it.

4) Explore London. You don’t need to go far to find your next adventure and I’m living in a vibrant capital that bursting with culture and heritage out of its every pore. Expect blogs.

5) The Lindy Hop.

6) Volunteer. Despite life throwing spanners at me, I have been very lucky to have such amazing friends and family. They have supported me through some pretty tough times and I know without them, my life would be very different. Now it’s my turn to give something back.

7) Do more photography. I want to take it a bit more seriously (but not too seriously. This is for fun…) Recently, I set up a photography blog where I’ve written some photo-specific resolutions to help.

So there you have it – a blog post full of good intentions, but hopefully, 2013 won’t be a road to hell. I hope you stick around for the ride.

Happy new year.

One thought on “We survived the Mayan apocalypse. Now wot?

  1. Pingback: teacup and cake

Leave a Reply

