I iz an indie kid me

Daily Prompt: What role does music play in your life?

“Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” Maya Angelou 

I sing badly. I want to be a drummer. I wish would stick at the guitar. I used to write very bad lyrics. I was in the choir. I was also in  the orchestra. I played the flute. My past boyfriends are guitarists. My pink headphones go everywhere with me. I need to go to more gigs this year.

Music is always around me. I cannot imagine life without it.

Like the cast of Glee, I find it easier to express myself through music. This doesn’t mean that I break out into song when I’m upset, ecstatic or frustrated. I lose myself – I sing, dance, cry to it (not always at the same time, I might add).

So, without further ado, here’s some songs and bands who have featured in my life:

Before Busted, before McFly, there was The DumDums:

Reminds me of my friend Kath who copied the album to tape back at school:

No – it’s not because of the X Factor. I loved this song way before then. Waayyy before:

One of my favourite Manics song:

I still love you Tim from Ash:

‘Phonics:

I interviewed the lovely, lovely Feeder on their Comfort in Sound tour:

THE song that gets me thought the tough times:

I’ve only just discovered these guys:

What songs lurk down your musical memory lane?

One thought on “I iz an indie kid me

  1. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

